In Nicolas Guiet’s kitchen…

- Alain FRANÇOIS

Nicolas Guiet

This is the tale of a meeting of minds between Nicolas GUIET, Chef at the L’U.Ni restaurant in Nantes, and Maison Alain FRANÇOIS, over an exceptional product, Foie Gras. This passionate chef opens the doors to his restaurant and becomes the first ambassador of Maison Alain FRANÇOIS.

 

A passion is born: a family saga

“Cooking is first and foremost a childhood memory. I remember my mother spending time in her kitchen cooking up family fare. Then, at the age of 15 you have to pick a future. A work place experience in a little brasserie and I was hooked, so off I headed to catering school!”

 

From family meals to professional cookery

“At catering school I was lucky enough to take my first steps in wonderful establishments* where gastronomy was a source of inspiration. These experiences, combined with fantastic teachers, awoke in me this love of eating well, of being a good host and giving pleasure.

“At La Mare aux Oiseaux I discovered the combination of gastronomic pleasure and how to welcome guests simply and efficiently. It was also there that I first set eyes on Laetitia, my wife, without whom nothing would be possible today.”

 

The L’U.Ni, the beginnings of a wonderful adventure

“Two years ago, Laetitia and I decided to open our own restaurant, L’U.Ni, a restaurant we wanted to resemble our ‘Home Sweet Home’. We wanted a spot where people would sit down at a table together for a convivial moment and to discover new tastes.”

 

A cuisine for every season

“I think every chef has their own vision of gastronomy, their own expression. If I had to describe my cuisine, I would say it is reassuring yet surprising, from land and sea but always with a vegetable backbone. These days my dishes are centred on vegetables and herbs which are the hinges without which nothing is possible. I push myself to keep my cuisine alive; I change things as often as possible, in harmony with the seasons.”

 

 

*References:

Hôtel de la plage * in Sainte Anne la Palud, Le Domaine des Hauts de Loire** in Onzain,

Le Grand Cœur in Méribel, Le Cagnard * in Cagnes sur Mer, L’hôtel les Roches in Lavandou,

L’Escundudo * in Bormes, La Mare Aux Oiseaux* in Saint Joachim.

Dans la cuisine de Nicolas Guiet…

Le par Alain FRANÇOIS

Nicolas Guiet

C’est l’histoire d’une rencontre humaine entre Nicolas GUIET, chef cuisinier nantais à l’U.Ni et la Maison Alain FRANÇOIS, autour d’un produit d’exception « le Foie Gras »   Ce chef passionné nous ouvre les portes de son restaurant et devient le 1er ambassadeur de la Maison Alain FRANÇOIS.

 

L’origine de sa passion : une histoire de famille

« La cuisine c’est avant tout un souvenir d’enfance, je me souviens de ma maman qui passait du temps dans sa cuisine pour mitonner des petits plats familiaux. Puis, à l’âge de 15 ans il faut choisir son avenir : un stage découverte dans une petite brasserie et le virus du service me prend : direction l’école hôtelière ! »

 

De la cuisine familiale à la cuisine professionnelle

« A l’école, j’ai eu la chance de pouvoir faire mes premiers pas dans de beaux établissements* où la gastronomie était source d’inspiration. Ces expériences associées à des professeurs passionnés ont suscité cet amour du bien manger, du bien recevoir et du faire plaisir.

A la Mare aux Oiseaux j’ai découvert l’alliance du plaisir gastronomique et du savoir recevoir en toute simplicité et efficacité. C’est également là que j’ai croisé le premier regard de Laetitia, ma femme, sans qui rien ne serait possible aujourd’hui. »

 

L’U.Ni, le début d’une belle aventure

« C’est avec Laetitia qu’il y a deux ans nous avons décidé d’ouvrir notre propre chez nous ; L’U.Ni, un restaurant que nous avons voulu aux couleurs de notre « Home Sweet Home ». Nous voulions un lieu où l’on vient se retrouver autour d’une table pour un moment de convivialité et de découvertes gustatives. »

 

Une cuisine au rythme des saisons

« Je pense que chaque cuisinier a sa vision de la gastronomie, son expression. Si je devais décrire ma cuisine je la qualifierai de rassurante/surprenante, de terre/mer avec toujours une colonne vertébrale végétale. Aujourd’hui, mes plats s’articulent autour des légumes et des herbes qui sont les charnières, rien n’est possible sans eux. Je m’efforce de faire vivre ma cuisine ; elle change aussi souvent qu’elle le peut, au rythme des saisons. »

 

 

*Ses références :

L’Hôtel de la plage *  à Sainte Anne la Palud, Le Domaine des Hauts de Loire** à Onzain,

Le Grand Cœur à Méribel, Le Cagnard * à Cagnes sur Mer, L’hôtel les Roches au Lavandou,

L’Escundudo * à Bormes, La Mare Aux Oiseaux* à Saint Joachim.